Today at the masjid

Today at the Masjid, a lady with her three daughters walked in and looked so sad. It was the type of sad that turned the entire room blue. She spoke with my aunt and I wasn’t too sure of the situation but all I could hear was my aunt telling her to recite some Qur’aan, to be patient, to make duaa, etc.

There’s a back room in the women’s area so the lady went in there with her daughters. All the while, looking like she had the weight of the world on her shoulders. I tried to ask her if she was alright but she responded with “I’m okay. I’m okay.” I spoke with her daughters while she was talking to my aunt and they said that their mom was ‘sick.’ I come to find out that this lady was suffering from a mental illness. Allaah knows best, I’m not too sure of the details, but after Maghrib, all the men (mainly the elders) came to the Women’s area, to the back room where the lady was, took with them few of the elderly women and began to recite the Qur’an over the woman. 

I still can’t get the image of her eldest daughter coming out crying with such sadness. I couldn’t hold her without crying, like, imagine your mother going through so much that no one else understands, being new to the city, your father is in another continent, you barely ate, and then having to witness your mother screaming and having had the Qur’an read over her. 

It lasted about an hour or so and afterwards, both girls ran towards their mother crying. Subhan’Allaah what a sight. The eldest came back to me with the biggest smile on her face and said something I couldn’t understand. I asked her what she said and she said something along the lines of “my mother is okay.” Subhan’Allaah. 

It’s nothing short of amazing how the solution to our problems is always the Qur’an. I mean, there are illnesses and disorders that need medical attention, but overall, the Qur’an does bring peace to the heart and soul. Allaah knows best what she’s suffering from, but when she came out, the room was almost a golden honey in colour because you can almost feel the weight of the world being lifted from her.

🙂

Please make du’aa for this lady and her daughters. Their father is coming tomorrow insha’Allaah, but it still sad that these girls have such memories of pain at such a young age. To see their mother in such a position. Alhamdulilaah ala kuli haal. Qadr Allaah wa ma shaa’a fa’alaa wa kulu khair. Alhamdulilaah kulu khair.

Leave a Reply

