Do Not Judge

A few years back, there was this girl, a friend of a friend. I didn’t know her, never spoke to her, never even met her. I only saw a picture of her. I instantly didn’t like her or the way she dressed just because she wasn’t as conservative as I was and I found myself having all these thoughts and opinions about her. She must be doing this, she must be doing that. All of a sudden I was startled by how much I’ve let my mind wander and assume things about this girl when I didn’t even know her. I was really ashamed of the way I judged her, because really who am I to judge another person? And since that day I promised myself that I’ll try my best not to judge anyone ever again.

The reason I’m sharing this today, is that nowadays almost everyone is judging everyone else. We’ve created stereotypes and we use superficial standards to form shallow opinions of others. While, in fact Islam is totally against judging other people.

I was taught that one of the main axes of Islam is “Sincere belief” in the existence of Allah, his angels, his books, his messengers, the judgment day and the predestination.  When I asked why it’s called “sincere” belief and not “correct” belief for example. I was told that faith lies in the heart of the believer, and since we human beings can never know what a person heart holds, we can never tell if his faith is correct or not. His sincerity can only be judged by Allah who is the only one who knows what lies in people’s hearts.

Our prophet never announced the names of the hypocrites, even though he knew them, so people wouldn’t consider it as Sunnah and start questioning other people’s sincerity and faith.

Allah says in the holy Quran: 

“Indeed, the most noble of you in the sight of Allah is the most righteous of you. Indeed, Allah is Knowing and Acquainted.” 

(Al Hujurat :13)

So it’s not our place to judge others by the way they dress, walk, talk or what they do for a living. We can’t know where they stand according to Allah.  Our only role is to work on ourselves and to pray for guidance for those who need it including ourselves.

Abu Huraira reported: The Prophet, peace and blessings be upon him, said, “Verily, a prostitute saw a dog lolling around a well on a hot day and hanging his tongue from thirst, so she drew some water for it in her shoe and Allah forgave her.”

So the way Allah judges people is pretty different than the way we do. You never know which good deed will earn you your ticket to Jannah.

So, if you see somebody doing something wrong or even something forbidden, do not judge because you don’t know what you’d have done if you were in his/her shoes. Do not judge because you don’t know how you would’ve turned up, if you were raised in different conditions. Do not judge, because no one is perfect including yourself.  Do not judge because you never know who will end up in Jannah and who won’t. Do not judge, instead find excuses for your sisters and brothers, ask Allah to guide them and forgive them. Ask Allah to guide you and forgive you as well.

🙂

Leave a Reply

